Open Letter on the Establishment of a National Integrity Commission

AN OPEN LETTER

Dear Prime Minister Scott Morrison

Confidence and trust in government and public institutions is at an all-time low. When this confidence and trust is diminished, pessimism, divisiveness and conflict increase; and social cohesiveness is harmed. As a result, the economy and the welfare of all Australians suffers. Ultimately, as international experience has shown, democracy itself is threatened and may be irreparably damaged. Governments ignore at their peril demands by citizens to combat corruption with vigor.

A major cause of the current deterioration in trust is the suspicion that corruption permeates many governmental decisions and actions. Corruption, broadly understood in this context, occurs when those in public office place private interests over the public good. The avoidance of corruption is an essential organising principle of our representative democracy.

Secrecy is at the core of corrupt conduct. Electronic communications and advanced developments in IT provide formidable means of concealing misconduct, which is difficult and expensive to combat. Those involved in large-scale corruption are usually well-organised, experienced, astute and wealthy. A well-funded and properly resourced national anti-corruption agency, with overall jurisdiction to investigate all public decisions and conduct, and with appropriate powers and protections, is needed to combat them. The price of freedom, and freedom includes living in a society free from corruption, is eternal vigilance.

Existing federal integrity agencies lack the necessary jurisdiction, powers and know-how to investigate properly the impartiality and bona-fides of decisions made by, and conduct of, the federal government and public sector.

A National Integrity Commission is urgently needed to fill the gaps in our integrity system and restore trust in our democracy.

The National Integrity Committee has outlined a benchmark for designing a model integrity commission. It must have a broad jurisdiction and strong investigative powers, including public hearings, in order to adequately investigate and expose corruption and misconduct.

We urge you to immediately establish a strong, effective and independent National Integrity Commission.

The Hon Sir Gerard Brennan AC QC

Former Chief Justice, High Court of Australia

The Hon Jane Mathews AO

Former judge, Federal Court of Australia; former judge, Supreme Court of NSW

The Hon David Ipp AO QC

Former Commissioner, NSW ICAC; former judge NSW Court of Appeal

The Hon Anthony Whealy QC

Former judge, NSW Court of Appeal

The Hon Paul Stein AM QC

Former judge, NSW Court of Appeal

The Hon Ken Handley AO QC Former judge, NSW Court of Appeal

The Hon Peter McClellan AM QC

Former judge, NSW Court of Appeal

The Hon Murray Tobias AM QC

The Hon Marcia Neave AO

Former judge, Victorian Court of Appeal

The Hon Bernard Bongiorno AO

Former judge, Victorian Court of Appeal

The Hon James Thomas AM QC

Former judge, Queensland Court of Appeal

The Hon Margaret White AO

Former judge, Queensland Court of Appeal

The Hon Mary Gaudron QC

Former judge, High Court of Australia

The Hon Jeffrey Miles AO

Former Chief Justice of ACT; former judge, Supreme Court of NSW

The Hon Stephen Charles AO QC

Former judge, Victorian Court of Appeal

The Hon David Harper AM QC

Former judge, Victorian Court of Appeal

The Hon Geoff Davies AO QC

Former judge, Queensland Court of Appeal

The Hon Henric Nicholas QC Former judge, Supreme Court of NSW

The Hon Bill Windeyer AM Former judge, Supreme Court of NSW

The Hon David Kirby QC

Former judge, Supreme Court of NSW

The Hon John McKechnie QC WA CCC Commissioner; former judge Supreme Judge Stuart Campbell

Court of WA The Hon Chris Steytler AO QC

Former judge, Supreme Court of WA

The Hon Peter Lyons QC

Former judge, Supreme Court of Queensland

The Hon Tony Fitzgerald AC QC

Former judge, Federal Court of Australia; former President, Queensland Court of Appeal

The Hon Margaret McMurdo AC

Former President, Queensland Court of Appeal

The Hon Alan Wilson QC

Former judge, Supreme Court of Queensland

The Hon Geoffrey Miller QC

Former judge, Supreme Court of WA

The Hon Betty King QC Former judge, Supreme Court of Victoria

The Hon Wayne Haylen QC

Former judge, NSW Industrial Court

Judge Philip Nase

Former Queensland CMC Commissioner; former judge District Court of Queensland

Judge Greg Woods QC Court of NSW

Former judge, County Court of Victoria

Judge Sarah Bradley

Former judge, District Court of Queensland

Judge John Robertson

Former judge, District Court of Queensland

